2022 Oakland Progressives Party + Townie Awards

Oakland Progressives Party + Townie Awards is back in person Thursday, June 23rd from 5 to 8PM at the Black Cultural Zone – Liberation Park! Oakland Rising and Oakland Rising Action are celebrating 14 years of building community power and driving a progressive agenda for Oakland’s working-class, immigrant and communities of color. Help us celebrate and honor our local social justice leaders at the premier summer event for movement builders and change makers. Your support bolsters our political power-building work so that we can win community-solutions and develop leaders who champion racial, economic & environmental justice.

We’re excited to announce the 2022 winners are:

Townie of the Year: Reparations for Black Students

Government Official Townie: in memory of Sup. Wilma Chan

Local Business Townie: Wahpepah’s Kitchen

Culture Maker Townie: Black Cultural Zone

COVID-19 Guidelines: Masks are strongly recommended when not eating or drinking. We ask all guests to pre-register and upload a PCR test result OR proof of vaccination to Crowdpass. A limited number of rapid tests will be on site for those who are unable to upload their info to Crowdpass. Given the changing nature of COVID, we reserve the right to change the requirements.

If you are interested in supporting our work and becoming a sponsor or co-host, see details below and contact our Strategic Partnerships Director, Beth Gunston, at beth@oaklandrising.org.



  • SEIU Local 1021


  • AFSCME Council 57
  • Bank of San Francisco
  • Policy Link
  • San Francisco Foundation


  • ACLU of Northern California
  • Anti Police-Terror Project
  • Oakland Council President Nikki Fortunato Bas
  • Bay Rising Action
  • California Federation of Teachers
  • California Nurses Association
  • Center for Story-based Strategy
  • Communities United for Restorative Youth Justice
  • Ella Baker Center for Human Rights
  • IFPTE Local 21
  • Justice Funders
  • Oakland Councilmember At-Large Rebecca Kaplan
  • National Union of Healthcare Workers
  • Parent Voices Oakland
  • BART Board Director Lateefah Simon
  • State Senator Nancy Skinner
  • Working Partnerships USA


  • Asian Pacific Environmental Network
  • Alameda County Supervisor Keith Carson
  • Center for Empowered Politics
  • East Bay Alliance for a Sustainable Economy
  • Congresswoman Barbara Lee
  • Mujeres Unidas y Activas
  • Oakland Councilmember Treva Reid
  • Oakland Council President Pro Tempore Sheng Thao
  • UNITE HERE! 2850


  • AC Transit Director Jovanka Beckles
  • Black Organizing Project
  • Californians for Justice
  • Filipino Advocates for Justice
  • Fun with Financials
  • Just Cities
  • Oakland Education Association
  • BART Board Director Robert Raburn
  • Sierra Club Northern Alameda County Group
  • Sierra Club SF Bay Chapter
  • St Mary’s Center
  • Urban Habitat
  • Allyssa Victory
  • Oakland Not for Sale
  • In-Advance


Mandy Au Yeung | Donna Bransford | Cat Brooks | Ecaterina Burton | Margi Clarke | Tracey Corder | Shay Franco-Clausen | Nancy Friedman | Greg Hodge | Floyd Huen & Jean Quan | Lailan Huen | Lindsay Imai Hong | Jakada Imani & Laura Todaro | Dave Kakashiba | Keyvan & Andrea Lee | Carina Lieu | Tonya Love | Allistair Mallillin | Bilen Mesfin Packwood & Damon Packwood | Jonathan Mehta Stein | Michelle MiJung Kim | Kỳ-Nam Miller | Luke Newton | Dang Nguyen & Gala King | Meg Renik | Dee Rosario | Jessamyn Sabbag | Jill Shenker | Dan Siegel | Evelyn Torres | Malia Vella | Sheryl Walton | Kenya Wheeler | Calvin Williams & Leila McCabe | Marla Wilson | Pete Woiwode | Alvina Wong